Showing posts with label Advanced AfterEffect Tutorials - Video. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Advanced AfterEffect Tutorials - Video. Show all posts

Monday, March 19, 2012

Aetuts+ Hollywood Movie Title Series – Mission Impossible 4

Final Product What You'll Be Creating


This entry is part 27 of 27 in the series Hollywood Movie Titles

In today’s tutorial we’ll be creating the Mission Impossible 4 title animation. In the first part, we’ll be in Cinema 4d to create and animate the logo, lights and materials. We will then continue to After Effects for the overall composition and all the graphic elements that characterize this particular animation. We’ll also explain how to make the fantastic ghost protocol effect.


Tutorial

Download Tutorial .mov

File size: 250.3 MB

How To Get The Best From Your DSLR While Using Twixtor

Final Product What You'll Be Creating


Today we’ll take a look at how to get the best results from DSLR footage while using Twixtor. We’re going to talk about what you can do to ensure that you have good footage to work with and also how to work with “less than perfect” footage as well!


Tutorial

Download Tutorial .mov

File size: 266.2 MB

Monday, November 1, 2010

Create a Show Opening Using 3Ds Max & After Effects

Final Product What You'll Be Creating



Video 1

Download

Note: click the ‘Monitor’ icon to view tutorial in full-screen HD.


Video 2

Download

Note: click the ‘Monitor’ icon to view tutorial in full-screen HD.


Video 3

Download

Note: click the ‘Monitor’ icon to view tutorial in full-screen HD.

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Get Brilliantly Better Balcony Backdrops Get Brilliantly Better Balcony Backdrops

Preview

Tutorial

Download Tutorial .flv

File size 232MB


Give Your Video A Pencil Sketched Look

Preview

.

Tutorial

Step 1

Start by creating a new composition with your settings. I made it 1280*720, 5 seconds long at 25Fps and called it Main.
Import your logo and bring it inside the composition.

””/

Step 2

Select the logo and precompose it. On Pre-compose dialog select "Leave all attributes in ‘Main’" so that the new composition would be the size of our logo. Call it Logo. Open it.

””/

Step 3

Now we need to think ahead a bit. We know that if we apply any filter in Photoshop to our logo, it’ll look the same on all frames because the color data remains the same. So we need to make it change for each frame.
Apply Brightness & Contrast effect to the logo. Set Contrast to 60. For Brightness, apply this expression : wiggle(25,50) which means that we’re shifting Brightness randomly for each frame.
Save.

””

Step 4

As we preview, you can see it’s flickering really fast. For this particular effect we know it’s too rapid because the look we try to emulate usually involves around 15 frames per second. What can we do? We lower the frame rate down to 15 fps for this composition. You can do it by going in Composition Settings.
Save.

””

Step 5

Next, we’ll create that thing growing behind the logo. Go into Main composition and create a new solid. Call it Particular. Apply Particular to it.
We’ll use Aux System so we need only few particles to be emitted.
Under Emitter, change Particles/sec to 300. Now set a keyframe for them at frame 0. Then move forward to frame 1 and lower Particles/sec to 0.
Set Velocity to 300 for faster burst. Preview and see the result.
Save.

””/

Step 6

Don’t change anything under Particle, go straight to Aux System. Change Emit to Continously. This will make trails of particles behind the initial ones.
To make them bigger and denser set Particles/sec to 30 and Size to 40. Change Life to 5 and Type to Cloudlet.
At last, open Color over Life pull-down and set it to White to Black gradient. Hit Flip to reverse the gradient.
Save.

””/

Step 7

Go to Physics>Air>Turbulence Field and set Affect Position to 100.
Now we can precompose our Particular layer. Call the composition Streaks. Drag it under Logo layer.
Go into Streaks Composition Settings and set its Frame Rate to 15 as previous.
Save.

””

Step 8

Now the background itself. I’ll use a paper texture. Place your texture inside Main comp and call it BG. To give the texture more detail, apply Curves and crank up the contrast a bit. Then apply Brightness & Contrast effect and add wiggle(25,30) expression to Brightness.
Save.

””

Step 9

We need to create one last element. In the Project panel, duplicate Streaks comp and call it Streak edges. On Particular layer, apply Find Edges effect.
Make a new White solid and put it under Particular as background.
Save. You’re almost ready to start exporting for Photoshop.

””

Step 10

Now you can go into Main composition Settings and change its Frame Rate to 15 also.
You’ll have to render each element separately so that you have a lot more control on their look. Start with Logo. Go into its composition and do it from there.
For each element you’ll have to do two things – first, save a preview image by going to Composition>Save Frame As>File…
Second, render the whole animation as Filmstrip. You can do it by adding the animation to Render Queue and changing Output Module to Filmstrip by clicking on it.
Filmstrip is a format that saves the animation/video on a single image and also encodes their time data on it so you can later playback it on necessary software.
Hit Render. Do the same with Streaks, Streak edges, BG. To render BG separately, just solo it by enabling Solo switch.

””

Step 11

Now you need to download and install this application – http://www.filterforge.com
It lets you to create and use all sorts of filters applying them through Photoshop.
At this point you should have rendered the following files: 4 Filmstrip files and 4 PSD’s for each element.

””

Step 12

Open Logo_preview.psd through Photoshop.
Then, open Filter>Filter Forge>Filter Forge…
After application opens you can start browsing through presets. Go to Creative – Old Drawing .03. You can select one of the presets and then adjust their Settings.
See the screenshot for my settings.

””

Step 13

Hit Apply. Now you can open Logo Filmstrip file. When ready, click on Filter Forge under Filters. This will automatically use those settings you used on the preview image. It’ll now apply them on each filmstrip frame so the whole process is pretty time consuming.

””

Step 14

After filters are applied, save the new Filmstrip through Save As…
Repeat Step 11 and Step 12 with remaining elements changing filter settings on your own.

””

Step 15

Bring the new Filmstrips inside After Effects. Take logo and background strips and place them accordingly in Main composition. I renamed them Logo strip and BG strip.
Open Streaks composition and bring in Streak_strip_2.fml. Place it under Particular and set its TrkMat to Luma so it would cut down the background.
Next, bring in Streak_edges_strip_2.flm and make a Black Solid under it. Set the solid’s TrkMat to Luma inverted.
Save.

””

Step 16

Switch back to Main. Bring in Streaks comp (rename it to Streaks matte) and put it on top of Logo strip. Set Logo TrkMat to Alpha Matte.
Now select Streaks comp and offset it 1 second forward in timeline. When at 1 second mark, select Logo strip layer and duplicate it by pressing Ctrl + D. Then press Alt + [ to trim the front part.

””

Step 17

Do some color correction and you’re done.

””/

Track Your Golf Swing Form Like A Master

Preview


Tutorial

Download Tutorial .flv

File size 158MB

Create A Beach Themed “Water Writing” Look

Preview


Tutorial

Download Tutorial .flv

File size 106MB

Animate a Stylised Musical Motion Graphic with Maya and After Effects

When creating motion graphics to music, an often overlooked detail that really helps in bringing everything to life is synchronicity. When your visuals are correctly timed, however, it can not only feel like your visuals are moving to the music, but being driven by it.

In this tutorial, you will follow Jostein Fennekasa as he demonstrates a very useful way to map out your music using After Effects. He then will then model, animate, and render the 3d scene, all the while timing it to the music in Maya, and finally bring it all back into after effects to add to that last bit of artistic flare!

Final Effect Preview

Video 1

Download

Note: click the ‘Monitor’ icon to view tutorial in full-screen HD.

Video 2

Download

Note: click the ‘Monitor’ icon to view tutorial in full-screen HD.

Video 3

Download

Note: click the ‘Monitor’ icon to view tutorial in full-screen HD

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Design Rhythmic Motion Typography in After Effects

In this tutorial you’ll learn how to create animated typography synchronized with musical events

Preview

Please note: this video contains some swearing in the track ‘Bleed It Out’ by Linkin Park, which is used as the musical source. The tutorial will demonstrate how to create animated typography for the lines ‘Here we go for the hundredth time / Hand grenade pins in every line’. The effects in the rest of the video can be created with the same techniques shown in the tutorial.

Download

Preview

View Tutorial


Requirements: Adobe After Effects.

Instructions: Click ‘View Full-screen’ button (bottom right corner) to see this HD tutorial at maximum size. Click screen to pause, click again to play.

Download

Tutorial

Heads Up on Some Cool Graphic Type Techniques

In this tutorial, Markus Gustafsson shows us how to use adjustment layers and expressions to create some edgy graphic design.

Preview

Download Preview .flv

File size 1.3MB

Tutorial

Download Tutorial .flv

File size 255MB

Download Head.ai

File size 1MB

Links to elements used in this tutorial:
Bald head
Lorem ipsum generator


Monday, March 15, 2010

Double Stuffed Tracking Walkthrough - video

We’ve seen lots of tutorials on how to do basic planar tracking, but we’re gonna take it to a hole notha level. This tutorial demonstrates how to use 2D planar tracking and 3d tracking together to create graphics that pop off a board that you can hold and walk with.


Preview

Want access to the full AE project files and assets for every tutorial on Aetuts+, including this one? Join Ae Plus for just $9/month. You can view the final effect preview video below.

Tutorial

Download Tutorial .flv

File size 143MB

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Create an Elegant Signature Written With a Whisp of Smoke

In this tutorial you’ll learn how to create a written title that appears to be written in smoke with the use of Trapcode Particular. The final effect can be used for many purposes, particularly to create a very unique personal signature for your work.

Preview

RSS subscribers: please click here to view preview video.

Download

Preview

Requirements: Adobe After Effects, graphics editing program such as Adobe Photoshop, Trapcode Particular (download the trial version here).

Recommended:Wacom drawing tablet (Not vital; Only used to get as realistic a signature as possible)

NOTE: This effect was inspired by renowned visual artist Pierre Michel. The original effect can be seen at the end of this video. It should also be taken into account that I’m not saying I created this effect or that this IS the exact way to achieve the effect Pierre uses. It is simply what I have found to be fairly similar looking.

Step 1

Open up your drawing program of choice and create an 800×450 (16:9) work area. I’ll be using Adobe Photoshop.

1.jpg

Step 2

Before writing your signature on the computer, practice writing it on a piece of paper. It will help you break down what should go into each layer. What I mean by this is: each time you lift your pencil off the paper, there should be a new layer. Doing this will make the animation of the Stroke steps easier.

With my name, I make the ‘A’ with one strike, the dash through the A with the second strike, and ‘ndrew’ with the third. I’ve used different colors for each layer to help you understand what I mean, but don’t actually make each layer a different color. Make them all the same. I’ll be using red.

Note that the thinner the brush size the better the effect looks. As you can see in the image below, my brush size was a tad thick.

one.jpg

Step 3

Ctrl(or command) + click each layer to select everything inside and copy the contents.

two.jpg

Step 4

Create a new file (which should default to the exact size of the layer you selected if you copied it) and paste. Save this as .png and name it what it is. For this one (below) I’m saving it as ‘A.’ For the next two, I’d save them as ‘dash’ and ‘ndrew.’

Step 5

Open up After Effects and create a new comp with the parameters: 800×450, 29.97fps, and a duration of five (5) seconds.

four.jpg

Step 6

Import each one of the files (‘A’, ‘dash’, and ‘ndrew’) into the new project.

Step 7

Create a new black solid, name it ‘background’ and lock the layer.

Step 8

Drag each one of the image files into the comp and scale them down a bit so they aren’t so bold and don’t take up too much of the screen. As you can see, I’ve scaled mine down a bit so the lines are thinner, which will in turn make the smoke effect look more convincing.

Step 9

Hide each layer except layer ‘A.’ This will allow you to be more focused when doing the next step.

Step 10

Select layer ‘A’ and click the pen tool. With the pen tool selected, follow the path you followed when writing your name on top of the layer, as if you were just drawing over it again. In the picture below, I’ve placed numbers next to where each major ‘point’ of my signature is, giving you an idea of the path it follows. Unless your name starts with an A and is written the exact same way I write mine, you’ll have to do it accordingly.

Step 11

With the layer still selected, go up to Effect > Generate > Stroke. This will create a thin white line over your letter.

Step 12

Once the stroke is created, increase the parameter ‘Brush Size’ (under the effect settings) until the stroke fits perfectly over your letter. If the width of the stroke is right, but the positioning of some of the pen points are off, you can add vertexes to the mask and manipulate them so it looks perfect.

Step 13

Under the stroke settings, select the dropdown box next to Paint Style and select ‘Reveal Original Image.’

Step 14

Go forward in the comp two (2) frames and click the stopwatch next to End under the stroke settings and set the % to 0.

Step 15

Go forward to frame fifteen (15) and set the End % to 100. This will make the stroke effect reveal the letter A over the course of 13 frames.

Step 16

Duplicate layer A, select it, hit enter (or return), and rename it ‘A (New)’ and place it below the original layer. This will apply the same stroke that layer A had.

Step 17:

With layer ‘A (New)’ selected (the bottom layer of the letter), go up to Effect > Blur & Sharpen > Fast Blur.

Step 18:

Set the Bluriness parameter under the Fast Blur effect to 10.0.

Step 19:

Select layer ‘A’ and hit T on your keyboard to bring up the Opacity. Set this parameter down to 60%.

Step 20

Follow steps 9 – 19 again for each of the other sections of letters (or dashes) and set the keyframes (which reveal the letters in question) like this: First letter–and any subsequent dashes–go the fastest, all the rest of the letters that are connected go slower. You can see the distances between each keyframe I’ve set below, and can use this as a guide. Depending on the length of your name and set of letters, your settings will probably be different. Your keyframes will actually be diamonds, but I minimized the layers to save space.

Step 21

Now onto the good stuff. Go to Layer > New > Light…

Step 22

Set the light name as ‘Emitter’ (without quotes). This is so that Particular will recognize the light and use it as a motion path. Also, set the light type as Point. When the little Warning box comes up talking about 3D layers, hit ‘OK’.

Step 23

Go to Layer > New > Solid… and make the name ‘Particles’.

Step 24

Select the Particles layer and go to Effect > Trapcode > Particular.

Step 25

On the first frame (00000) of the comp, under the Emitter settings of Particular, set Particles/sec to 0 and set the Emitter Type to Light. This will default to follow the first Light titled Emitter.

Step 26

Select the Emitter layer. Go to frame 00002 and hit P on your keyboard to bring up the Position settings. Hit the stopwatch next to Position and move the emitter to where your first letter is going to begin. You don’t have to use the green Y arrow or the red X arrow to move it, just drag it by that little beige star-looking thing.

Step 27

Go forward in time to where each major point (see Step 10 if you don’t know what I’m talking about) is made and move the emitter accordingly. When you do this, it will not be perfect on the first sweep, but you can drag and manipulate the points once you make them. You can also twist the little pole things so the turns actually look the way the letter does.

As you can see in mine, I didn’t do 6 points like I said before because this part doesn’t have to be perfect. I don’t really advise you to make it perfect either, as that could make it come out looking mechanical–the opposite of what we actually want.

Note: The picture below actually has the keyframes in the wrong place, so don’t follow the picture exactly. I’m typing this now as the tutorial is finished because I just realized it after proof-reading it. I did catch my mistake as I was editing and changed it as you’ll see in Step 28, so please refer to the keyframes in Step 28.

Step 28

Re-do step 27 for the rest of the letters in your name, following the rate at which they are revealed. Don’t forget that this doesn’t have to be perfect. As you can see with mine, in the ‘ndrew’ section, the Emitter path is basically just a straight line except at the points where a raised letter comes up (d and w). This is the only time you want to follow the path exactly instead of just making straight lines. You should also do this the other way if you have a letter in your name that goes down, like a j or a y.

Step 29

Now for the particles. Go to frame 00002 and select the Particles layer. Set the Particles/sec to 2000, the Velocity and Velocity Random [%] to 0.0, Velocity from Motion [%] to 9.0, and the Emitter Size X, Y, and Z to 0. You should come up with a little white ball. If you scrub forward through the timeline, you’ll get a peek at a very rough version of what we’re trying to accomplish.

Step 30

Select the Particles layer and go to Effect > Color Correction > Hue/Saturation

Scrub forward a few frames in the timeline so a letter is there to reference when coloring your particles. Hit the Colorize checkbox under Hue/Saturation. Drag Colorize Lightness down to about -50 and Colorize Saturation up to 100. Moving around the +0.0° parameter next to Colorize Hue will create a change in the actual color. For the color I’ve used, I fiddled around with the settings a bit until I got it to a point where I think it looks good. If you’re using the same color I am, use my settings as a guide.

Step 31

Here’s where this technique becomes a bit tricky. I only say this because there are so many variables that could make yours look different to mine. These variables include the exact size of your letters and the exact length of time between keyframes, so try to stick close to the tutorial and use my settings as a guide.

On the Particles layer, in the Particular settings, under the Particle section put in the following parameters: Life [sec]: 1.2, Life Random [%]: 85, Size: 2.0, Opacity: 12, Opacity Random [%]: 75.

Again, keep in mind that these settings may not work perfectly for your unique signature, but it should get you to a point where a little further tweaking can get things just right for you. The key to seeing if you like the settings is to just keep scrubbing through the timeline to preview it. If the particles are too fat or they’re lasting too long, try fiddling around with a few of the settings we just changed.

Step 32

This step will probably be of the least help to you in determining exactly what numbers to use, but it will help you isolate the variables you should be experimenting with. Different settings will look good or bad depending on the composition of your signature, so you’ll need to experiment.

Under the Particular settings of the Particles layer, under the Air section, I used these parameters: Air Resistence: 47.5, Wind X: 168 (you want the wind to be blowing the particles to the right of the screen), Wind Y: -147 (you want the particles to be blown upward).

Under the Turbulence Field section I used these parameters: Affect Position: 610, Time Before Affect [sec]: 0.6, Scale: 15.1. This will affect how many twists and turns your particles do. You don’t want too much and you don’t want too little.

Complexity: 3 (This field almost has the same effect the Scale field has, but it affects how many twists and turns the particles do after they’ve twisted and turned from the Scale–confusing, I know!), Octave Multiplier: 0.5, Octave Scale: 1.5, Evolution Speed: 16.0 (This really sends the particles all over the place and makes them move really quickly if you set it too high. We want this effect to be slow and steady.), and Move With Wind [%]: 77 (You want this to be around here, because of course, you want the particles to float up and to the right, the direction the text is being written)

Step 33

Now we’re out of crazy territory. From here on out, it gets pretty simple (seeing as there are only three more steps–phew!). After you’ve made sure your particles are floating in a way that resembles the preview video and/or looks nice to you, select your Particles layer and under the Particular settings, go to the Emitter section. Hit U on your keyboard to bring up the keyframes created under the Particles layer.

Step 34

For each time your imaginary pen stops writing or ‘lifts off the paper’ (as an example, for me, it’s right after the arc of the A is made and before the dash is made), go one keyframe before when it stops (so if you lift off of the paper at 00005 frames, go to 00004 frames) and hit create keyframe. Again, this button is the little diamond to the left under the Particles layer in the same row as the stopwatch for Particles/sec.

On the next frame, the frame where the pen actually lifts off the paper, set the Particles/sec to 0. This will make it so the particles are not still emitting while nothing is actually being written.

Step 35

Now it’s time to do the opposite of Step 35, meaning that one frame before then pen touches down again, create a keyframe, go forward one frame, and set Particles/sec back up to 2000, followed by Step 35 again for each time the pen touches and leaves the paper.

Step 36

You’re pretty much done if the settings you made inside of Particular came out to be exactly what you wanted. The pictures for each step don’t actually perfectly represent what each frame is in the preview video because I actually went back and fiddled with a few of the settings afterwards. The settings I gave you at those steps were averages that seemed to come out looking good all of the times I’ve tried the effect, which should mean they’ll be helpful to you when you get to using this effect with your own signature.